Oscars Nominations List 2014

Be sure to watch the ceremony on March 2. Ellen DeGeneres is hosting. ;)

But until then, who do you think is gonna win?

Performance by an actor in a leading role 

  • Christian Bale in “American Hustle” 
  • Bruce Dern in “Nebraska” 
  • Leonardo DiCaprio in “The Wolf of Wall Street” 
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor in “12 Years a Slave” 
  • Matthew McConaughey in “Dallas Buyers Club”

Performance by an actor in a supporting role 

  •  Barkhad Abdi in “Captain Phillips” 
  • Bradley Cooper in “American Hustle” 
  • Michael Fassbender in “12 Years a Slave” 
  • Jonah Hill in “The Wolf of Wall Street” 
  • Jared Leto in “Dallas Buyers Club”

Performance by an actress in a leading role 

  • Amy Adams in “American Hustle” 
  • Cate Blanchett in “Blue Jasmine” 
  • Sandra Bullock in “Gravity” 
  • Judi Dench in “Philomena” 
  • Meryl Streep in “August: Osage County”

Performance by an actress in a supporting role 

  • Sally Hawkins in “Blue Jasmine” 
  • Jennifer Lawrence in “American Hustle” 
  • Lupita Nyong’o in “12 Years a Slave” 
  • Julia Roberts in “August: Osage County” 
  • June Squibb in “Nebraska”

Best animated feature film of the year 

  • “The Croods” Chris Sanders, Kirk DeMicco and Kristine Belson 
  • “Despicable Me 2” Chris Renaud, Pierre Coffin and Chris Meledandri 
  • “Ernest & Celestine” Benjamin Renner and Didier Brunner 
  • “Frozen” Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee and Peter Del Vecho 
  • “The Wind Rises” Hayao Miyazaki and Toshio Suzuki

Achievement in cinematography 

  • “The Grandmaster” Philippe Le Sourd 
  • “Gravity” Emmanuel Lubezki 
  • “Inside Llewyn Davis” Bruno Delbonnel 
  • “Nebraska” Phedon Papamichael 
  • “Prisoners” Roger A. Deakins

Achievement in costume design 

  • “American Hustle” Michael Wilkinson 
  • “The Grandmaster” William Chang Suk Ping 
  • “The Great Gatsby” Catherine Martin 
  • “The Invisible Woman” Michael O’Connor 
  • “12 Years a Slave” Patricia Norris

Achievement in directing 

  • “American Hustle” David O. Russell 
  • “Gravity” Alfonso Cuarón 
  • “Nebraska” Alexander Payne 
  • “12 Years a Slave” Steve McQueen 
  • “The Wolf of Wall Street” Martin Scorsese

Best documentary feature 

  • “The Act of Killing”Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen 
  • “Cutie and the Boxer” Zachary Heinzerling and Lydia Dean Pilcher 
  • “Dirty Wars” Richard Rowley and Jeremy Scahill 
  • “The Square” Jehane Noujaim and Karim Amer 
  • “20 Feet from Stardom” Nominees to be determined

Best documentary short subject 

  • “CaveDigger” Jeffrey Karoff 
  • “Facing Fear” Jason Cohen 
  • “Karama Has No Walls” Sara Ishaq 
  • “The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life” Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed 
  • “Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall” Edgar Barens

Achievement in film editing 

  • “American Hustle” Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten 
  • “Captain Phillips” Christopher Rouse 
  • “Dallas Buyers Club” John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa 
  • “Gravity” Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger 
  • “12 Years a Slave” Joe Walker

Best foreign language film of the year 

  • “The Broken Circle Breakdown” Belgium 
  • “The Great Beauty” Italy 
  • “The Hunt” Denmark 
  • “The Missing Picture” Cambodia 
  • “Omar” Palestine

Achievement in makeup and hairstyling 

  • “Dallas Buyers Club” Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews 
  • “Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa” Stephen Prouty 
  • “The Lone Ranger” Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original score) 

  • “The Book Thief” John Williams 
  • “Gravity” Steven Price 
  • “Her” William Butler and Owen Pallett 
  • “Philomena” Alexandre Desplat 
  • “Saving Mr. Banks” Thomas Newman

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original song) 

  • “Alone Yet Not Alone” from “Alone Yet Not Alone” Music by Bruce Broughton; Lyric by Dennis Spiegel 
  • “Happy” from “Despicable Me 2” Music and Lyric by Pharrell Williams 
  • "Let It Go” from “Frozen” Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez 
  • “The Moon Song” from “Her” Music by Karen O; Lyric by Karen O and Spike Jonze 
  • “Ordinary Love” from “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom” Music by Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen; Lyric by Paul Hewson

Best motion picture of the year 

  • “American Hustle” Charles Roven, Richard Suckle, Megan Ellison and Jonathan Gordon, Producers 
  • “Captain Phillips” Scott Rudin, Dana Brunetti and Michael De Luca, Producers 
  • “Dallas Buyers Club” Robbie Brenner and Rachel Winter, Producers 
  • “Gravity” Alfonso Cuarón and David Heyman, Producers 
  • “Her” Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze and Vincent Landay, Producers 
  • “Nebraska” Albert Berger and Ron Yerxa, Producers 
  • “Philomena” Gabrielle Tana, Steve Coogan and Tracey Seaward, Producers 
  • “12 Years a Slave” Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen and Anthony Katagas, Producers 
  • “The Wolf of Wall Street” Nominees to be determined

Achievement in production design 

  • “American Hustle” Production Design: Judy Becker; Set Decoration: Heather Loeffler 
  • “Gravity” Production Design: Andy Nicholson; Set Decoration: Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard
  • “The Great Gatsby” Production Design: Catherine Martin; Set Decoration: Beverley Dunn 
  • “Her” Production Design: K.K. Barrett; Set Decoration: Gene Serdena 
  • “12 Years a Slave” Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Alice Baker

Best animated short film 

  • “Feral” Daniel Sousa and Dan Golden 
  • “Get a Horse!” Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKim 
  • “Mr. Hublot” Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares 
  • “Possessions” Shuhei Morita 
  • “Room on the Broom” Max Lang and Jan Lachauer

Best live action short film 

  • “Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)” Esteban Crespo 
  • “Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything)” Xavier Legrand and Alexandre Gavras 
  • “Helium” Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson 
  • “Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)” Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari 
  • “The Voorman Problem” Mark Gill and Baldwin Li

Achievement in sound editing 

  • “All Is Lost” Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns 
  • “Captain Phillips” Oliver Tarney 
  • “Gravity” Glenn Freemantle 
  • “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” Brent Burge 
  • “Lone Survivor” Wylie Stateman

Achievement in sound mixing 

  • “Captain Phillips” Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith and Chris Munro 
  • “Gravity” Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro 
  • “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick and Tony Johnson 
  • “Inside Llewyn Davis” Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland 
  • “Lone Survivor” Andy Koyama, Beau Borders and David Brownlow

Achievement in visual effects 

  • “Gravity” Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk and Neil Corbould 
  • “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and Eric Reynolds 
  • “Iron Man 3” Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash and Dan Sudick 
  • “The Lone Ranger” Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams and John Frazier 
  • “Star Trek Into Darkness” Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann and Burt Dalton

Adapted screenplay 

  • “Before Midnight” Written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke 
  • “Captain Phillips” Screenplay by Billy Ray 
  • “Philomena” Screenplay by Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope 
  • “12 Years a Slave” Screenplay by John Ridley 
  • “The Wolf of Wall Street” Screenplay by Terence Winter

Original screenplay 

  • “American Hustle” Written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell 
  • “Blue Jasmine” Written by Woody Allen 
  • “Dallas Buyers Club” Written by Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack 
  • “Her” Written by Spike Jonze 
  • “Nebraska” Written by Bob Nelson


Post a Comment

Comment here!